Reviews

Find out more about the F3A World Championships. F3A is the name of a model airplane competition class. » read more

Clubs and Associations

All the news about associations, clubs and other interest groups that organize retro aerobatic meetings and competitions. » read more

Engine tests

Yes, today the vast majority of us fly the pattern planes powered electrically. This is not only practical, but many of the old structures unfold electrically modernized their real potential. » read more

Retro Classics

Infos about the famous airplanes of that time, which were built and flown a lot, or wich have been particularly successful. Reviews of earlier pictures and lots of information. » read more

Sky Aviations

Sky Aviations News / From the board. Its about new products and activities. » read more

Home » Classic Planes, Retro Classics, Topnews

Toni Clark`s Cap 21

Submitted by
cap_21white_300

cap21 header

Review 1987: As the interest in models suitable for the F3A-X program is growing, I would like to report on my CAP 21. This model is produced and directly distributed by Toni Clark.

This plane is an exact replica at a scale of 1:3.4 of the CAP 21 No. 001, the prototype which was represented at the World Aerobatic Championship in the USA in August 1980.

A plain box contains everything you need to build the CAP.  Because I had already had the construction plan sent to me beforehand, I did not need to go through the individual parts unprepared. The comprehensive plan is on a scale of 1:1 with an extra fuselage plan and the excellent detailed sections are to the same standard as the construction kit parts. All the shaped parts are sanded and fit exactly.

cap 21white 01s

Author and builder Jörg Tetzlaff

The individual parts can be easily found as they are packed into individual assemblies with the help of the 7-page parts list. If you have not read a book for a long time, you can also ask for the 17-page construction manual. If you build according to the instructions, you really cannot do anything wrong, and forgetting important components is also impossible. I have simply crossed out every section.

Building

The fuselage can be built on a flat building board with the separate fuselage building plan. The front fuselage side panels are already cleanly prepared. Also, the fuselage corner strips are profile milled and of very good quality. This applies to all parts. Once the fuselage box is assembled, the construction continues with the center wing section.  It can be assembled without any problems by using the Abachi wooden strips. The windows next to the pilot seat of the original are used as cooling air outlets on the model. In order not to have to handle a large wing area, the center section is now dowelled.

cap 21white 05s

The first step in wing construction is the gluing of the 2 mm balsa panels. The main spars of 8 x 5 balsa and 8 x 3 pine are also glued. A special feature is the fixing of the landing gear. The fixing panel for the undercarriage, made of 6.5 mm birch plywood, is glued into grooved auxiliary ribs which are also 6.5 plywood and have already been predrilled to save weight. The undercarriage legs, made of 5 mm duralumin, are fastened with 3 M3 screws. This enables quick assembly during transport. After the wing has been framed, you need to decide how to link the four ailerons.

cap 21white 04s

There is a choice of using either 4 servos in the wing or 2 servos in the center section and linkage via rods with angle levers. The latter option offered me the following advantages.

It was marked on the plan and the lower weight in the outer surface results in better rolling characteristics. Regarding the division of the controls, it should be said that the intention is not to increase the construction effort, but, as with the original, to avoid the risk of aileron flutter. Thanks to a detailed description, the planking of the wing with contact adhesive is not difficult at all. The finished wing halves are simply placed on the center piece, aligned and glued.  If you jig the wing in a Styrofoam stand in “crash position”, you can glue the milled obeche fillets.

cap 21white 02s

The ailerons are also rounded off at the leading edge and are fixed with stable hinges. The hinges consist of two Nylon 5mm bolts, 25 mm long and are pinned with a steel axle. The assembly is done by simple drilling, whereby a stepped hole of 5 and 9 mm is drilled in the ailerons. This is necessary because the aileron is shrouded and the axis of rotation of the hinges is located within the aileron.

cap 21blue 05s

The elevator is built in one piece on a jig. A striking feature is the very stable connection of the halves of the elevator which are linked with a 12 x 12 mm pine strip, which at the same time enables the large elevator horn to be attached. After gluing in the reinforcing blocks for the rudder hinges (double hinges on the outside) and reinforcements for the tail unit attachment, the planking is then completed. If both sides are planked, the rudder can be separated from the damping surface. The tailplane is fixed with 3 M3 Allen screws. This method of attachment makes it possible to remove the tailplane with its built-in servo for transport. The installation of the servo in the tail unit allows the use of a short linkage rod of 3 mm steel rod in combination with a strong clevis. You get a backlash-free and extremely stable linkage.

cap 21blue 04s

Tailplane and rudder are assembled in two halves, planked and then glued. Fully shrouded elevators and ailerons. Abechi triangular strips and deep-drawn foam lugs are used for this purpose. The styrene noses are glued and sanded with super glue. As the rudder should also be removable for transport, the axles are removed from the hinges and replaced by an inserted steel wire.

cap 21blue 03s

The rear landing gear is mounted on a recessed plywood plate, which also accommodates the lower rudder hinge. The linkage of the undercarriage and rudder is done by means of cables. They are attached to an intermediate lever in the front part of the fuselage, with damping springs attached to the undercarriage linkage.

The lever is linked by a short push rod. The final work on the tail unit is the attachment of a light GRP fairing and the gluing of the wingtips.

phillipe04s

Philippe Souperon`s Cap

 

phillipe02s

Philippe Souperon`s Cap

The rudder is aerodynamically balanced it also requires approximately 30g of lead as a mass balancer. Thus, the servo only needs to apply the pure rudder pressure. The remote servo is installed in a box made of 5 mm balsa wood. This box protects the system from the heat of the tuned pipe inside the fuselage. The aileron servos are also protected against heat by a cover. The fuel tank is placed on the system box. The fuel tank receives its cooling air through a cardboard tube directed at the tank. Once all the fittings have been installed, the fuselage is planked. The planking has 3 parts at the front and 2 at the rear. Since it consists of 3 mm balsa, it is necessary to bend it forward. Allow the parts to dry overnight then continue with the assembly of upper decking.

cap 21blue 02s

The bottom of the fuselage is planked with 3.5 balsa running across. The very light, white coloured engine cowl is available in two parts. It can be screwed (like the original) or glued. I glued it and after painting I screwed the screws in. It is fixed to the fuselage with 15 screws. Because they would not hold in the balsa wood, small plywood plates are embedded.

With the build completed, cover the airframe with tissue applied with paste.

phillipe03s

Philippe Souperon`s Cap

Once you have screwed on the very clean smoked glass canopy, you get to the most beautiful part. Decorating with the excellent decorative sheets is a lot of fun. The whole finish added 580 g to my CAP, resulting in a total weight of 7600 g compared to 7400 g stated by the manufacturer. To my delight the center of gravity was correct without adding weight.

cap 21blue 01s

The construction time for my model was 3 months.

Since I have gained enough experience in applying quirks when performing out the out-of-cellar carrying, here is another tip: after treatment with a film sealer, surfboard packaging envelopes are excellently suited as flat bags.

On the day of the maiden flight the sun was shining beautifully, but it was quite windy. The built-in Quadra showed itself from its best side after a tank filling. Without changing any settings, it ran cleanly through and could be throttled very low.

phillipe01s

Philippe Souperon`s Cap

Two short roll tests showed a strong reaction to rudder deflection and the expected roll-out distance. The start was on our hard runway. Due to the somewhat fresh wind, the CAP was already in the air after a short roll distance and had to be pressed a little. The immediate and exact reaction of the model to every rudder movement was striking, which encouraged me to see what was behind it after a trimming circuit. Despite the huge aileron deflections, all roll figures can be flown wonderfully smoothly and accurately. Thanks to the large fuselage, the knife flight requires little rudder deflection. Cracked rolls can be flown on the side. However, the CAP is not suitable for speed flyers. There is hardly any increase in speed in a nosedive, and the model behaves in the same way in pushed and pulled figures. This results in a balanced and extremely elegant flight pattern.

cap 21white 06s

I must say that I have never tried so many figures with any model in the first 10 minutes as with this CAP. Obligatory was now overdrawn in safety height. Here it can be seen that the CAP only goes over the nose as long as you keep your fingers off the rudder. Not unmentioned I would like to leave the turns. They are not tilted or pushed around – but flown. The landing is no problem at all. The flat glide angle allows a clean approach. Touching down and taxiing back to the take-off box is the end of an inspiring first flight.

In summary, it can be said that the design of the model should be optimal from a structural and aeronautical point of view. It is to be hoped that even more pilots will not shy away from the effort and build the large model for the RC 1X program.

Specifications:

Scale: 1:3,4
Wingspan: 2,38 Meter / 94 inch
Length: 1,90 Meter / 75 inch
Powerplant: 50 – 62 cm3
Wing area: 83 dm2
Flying weight:  7,5 – 8,5 kg / 16,5 – 19 lbs
Area loading: 90-102 g/dm2

 

www.toni-clark.com

Author: Jörg Tetzlaff 1987
English text: Thanks to Martyn Kinder for support
Images white Cap: Jörg Tetzlaff
Images blue Cap: Karl Paul
Images other white Cap: Philippe Souperon

CAP21 fuselage

tonyclark header

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

Tags:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Rückblick

Berichte und Bildmaterial von vergangenen R/C Kunstflug-Veranstaltungen. weiterlesen »

Clubs & Verbände

Infos über Verbände und Clubs, die Retro Kunstflugtreffen und Wettbewerbe organisieren. weiterlesen »

Motorentests

Unter dieser Rubrik finden Sie interssante und teils historische Artikel über Modellflugmotoren. weiterlesen »

Retro-Klassiker

Alles über die berühmten Flugmodelle von damals, Testberichte, Bildmaterial und viele Infos. weiterlesen »

Sky News

Hier wird über neue ARF- Projekte von Sky Aviations, Germany berichtet. weiterlesen »

Home » Retro-Klassiker, Topthema

Toni Clark`s Cap 21

Eingereicht
cap_21white_300

cap21 header

Rückblick 1987: Da das Interesse an den Modellen, die für das X-Programm geeignet sind, immer größer wird, möchte ich über meine CAP 21 berichten. Dieses Modell wird (auch noch 2020) von Toni Clark hergestellt und direkt vertrieben.

Es handelt sich hierbei um einen genauen Nachbau im Maßstab 1:3,4 der CAP 21 No. 001, also des Prototyps, der im August 1980 auf der Kunstflugweltmeisterschaft in den USA vertreten war.

Ein schlichter Karton beinhaltet alles, was man zum Bau der CAP benötigt. Da ich mir zuvor den Bauplan schicken ließ, ging es nun nicht ganz unvorbereitet an die Durchsicht der Einzelteile. Dem umfassenden Plan im Maßstab 1 : 1 mit extra Rumpfaufbauplan und hervorragenden Detaillösungen stehen auch die Baukastenteile in nichts nach.

cap 21white 01s

Autor und Erbauer Jörg Tetzlaff

Alle formgebenden Teile sind ausgeschliffen und passgenau. Durch Abpacken in einzelne Baugruppen bereitet das Auffinden der Einzelteile, unter Zuhilfenahme der 7seiteigen Stückliste, keine Schwierigkeiten. Hat man schon lange kein Buch mehr gelesen, kann man sich an der 17seitigen Bauanleitung ersuchen. Baut man nach Anleitung, kann eigentlich nichts falsch gemacht werden, und das Vergessen wichtiger Einbauten ist ebenfalls ausgeschlossen. Ich habe jeden Abschnitt einfach abgestrichen.

cap 21white 03s

Zum Bau

Der Rumpf kann auf einem ebenen Baubrett mit dem separaten Rumpfbauplan gebaut werden. Die vorderen Rumpfseitenteile sind bereits sauber geschäftet. Ebenso sind die Rumpfeckleisten profilgefräst und von sehr guter Qualität. Dies gilt für alle Teile. Ist der Rumpfkasten aufgebaut, wird mit dem Flügelmittelstück weitergebaut. Unter Verwendung der Abachihellingleisten ist es problemlos aufzubauen. Die Sichtfenster neben dem Pilotensitz des Originals werden am Modell als Kühlluftaustrittsöffnungen genutzt. Um nicht mit einer großen Fläche hantieren zu müssen, erfolgt nun das Verdübeln des Mittelstücks.

cap 21white 05s

Zum Tragflächenbau erfolgt als erstes das Verleimen der 2-mm-Balsabeplankungen. Ferner werden die Hauptholme aus 8 x 5-Balsa und 8 x 3-Kiefer verleimt. Eine Besonderheit ist die Fahrwerksbefestigung. Das Befestigungsbrett des Fahrwerks aus 6,5-mm-Birkensperrholz wird in genutete und zur Gewichtsersparnis bereits ausgebohrte Hilfsrippen, ebenfalls 6,5-Sperrholz, eingeleimt. Die Fahrwerksbeine aus 5-mm-Dural werden mit 3 M3-Schrauben befestigt. Dies ermöglicht eine schnelle Montage beim Transport. Nachdem das Gerippe aufgebaut wurde, muß man entscheiden, wie man die vier Querruder anlenkt. Zur Wahl stehen: 4 Servos in der Fläche oder 2 Servos im Mittelstück und Anlenkung über Gestänge mit Winkelhebeln.

cap 21white 04s

Letztere Möglichkeit bot mir folgende Vorteile:

Sie war im Plan eingezeichnet, und das geringere Gewicht in der Außenfläche bewirkt ein besseres Rollverhalten. Zur Teilung der Ruder ist zu sagen, daß nicht der Bauaufwand erhöht werden soll, sondern, wie beim Original, das Risiko des Querruderflatterns verhindert werden soll. Das Beplanken des Flügels mittels Kontaktkleber stellt dank ausführlicher Beschreibung keinerlei Schwierigkeit dar. Die fertiggestellten Flügelhälften werden einfach auf das Mittelstück aufgesteckt, ausgerichtet und verleimt. Bringt man den Flügel in einem Styroporständer in „Absturzlage”, kann man die gefrästen Abachi-Hohlkehlenleisten aufleimen.

cap 21white 02s

Die Querruder sind an der Vorderkante ebenfalls fertig abgerundet. Die Befestigung der Ruder erfolgt mit stabilen Scharnieren. Die Scharniere bestehen aus zwei Kunststoffbolzen 5 mm, 25 mm lang und sind mit einer Stahlachse verbunden. Die Montage erfolgt durch einfaches Bohren, wobei in den Rudern eine Stufenbohrung mit 5 und 9 mm angebracht wird. Dies ist erforderlich, weil sich die Drehachse der Scharniere im Ruder befindet.

cap 21blue 05s

Das Höhenruder wird einteilig auf einer Helling aufgebaut. Auffallend ist die sehr stabile Verbindung der Ruderhälften durch eine 12 x 12-mm-Kiefernlei-ste, die gleichzeitig die Befestigung des großen Ruderhorns ermöglicht. Nachdem Verstärkungsklötze für die Ruderscharniere (außen doppelte Scharniere) sowie Verstärkungen für die Leitwerksbefestigung eingeleimt wurden, erfolgt das Beplanken. Sind beide Seiten beplankt, kann das Ruder von der Dämpfungsfläche getrennt werden. Die Höhenleitwerksbefestigung erfolgt mit 3 M3-Inbusschrauben. Diese Befestigungsart ermöglicht es, das Leitwerk mit eingebautem Servo zum Transport abzunehmen. Der Einbau des Servos im Leitwerk ermöglicht die Verwendung einer kurzen Anlenkstange aus 3-mm-Stahldraht in Verbindung mit einem starken Gabelkopf. Man erhält eine spielfreie und äußerst stabile Anlenkung.

cap 21blue 04s

Seitenleitwerk und Ruder werden jeweils in rechter und linker Hälfte aufgebaut, beplankt und anschließend verleimt. Höhen und Seitenruder sind mit Hohlkehlen ausgeführt. Hierfür finden Abachidreikantleisten und tiefgezogene Styrolnasen Verwendung. Die Styrolnasen werden mit Sekundenkleber angeklebt und verschliffen. Da das Seitenruder ebenfalls zu Transport abnehmbar sein soll, werden hierfür an den Scharnieren die Achsen entfernt und durch einen eingeschobenen Stahldraht ersetzt.

cap 21blue 03s

Die Befestigung des Heckfahrwerks erfolgt auf einem eingelassenen Sperrholzbrett, das gleichzeitig das untere Seitenruderscharnier aufnimmt. Die Anlenkung des Fahrwerks und Seitenruders erfolgt über Seilzüge. Sie sind im vorderen Rumpfbereich an einem Zwischenhebel befestigt, wobei an der Fahrwerksanlenkung Dämpfungsfedern eingehängt wurden.

phillipe02s

Philippe Souperon`s CAP

 

Die Anlenkung des Hebels erfolgt über eine kurze Schubstange. Abschließende Arbeiten am Leitwerk bilden das Anbringen einer leichten GfK-Verkleidung und das Anleimen der Randbögen.

Die Randbögen sind als aerodynamischer Ausgleich ausgelegt und halten durch den Einbau von insgesamt 30 g Blei das Ruder in der Waage. Somit braucht das Servo nur den reinen Ruderdruck aufzubringen. Der Einbau der Fernsteuerung erfolgt in einem Kasten aus 5-mm-Balsaholz. Dieser Kasten schützt die Anlage vor der Hitze des innen verlegten Resonanzrohrs. Ebenso sind die Querruderservos durch einen Deckel gegen Hitze geschützt. Auf dem Anlagenkasten findet der Tank seinen Platz. Durch ein auf den Tank gerichtetes Papprohr erhält dieser seine Kühlluft. Nachdem alle Einbauten erfolgt sind, geht es ans Beplanken des Rumpfrückens. Die Beplankung hat vorne 3, hinten 2 Teile. Da sie aus 3-mm-Balsa besteht, ist es erforderlich, sie vorzubiegen. Sind die Teile über Nacht getrocknet, werden sie auf die Hilfsleisten gestoßen und festgeleimt. Der Rumpfboden wird mit querlaufendem 3,5-Balsa beplankt. Die sehr leichte, weiß eingefärbte Motorhaube liegt zweiteilig vor. Sie kann verschraubt (wie beim Original) oder verklebt werden. Ich habe sie verklebt und nach dem Lackieren die Schrauben eingedreht. Die Befestigung am Rumpf erfolgt mit 15 Schrauben. Da sie im Balsaholz nicht halten würden, sind kleine Sperrholzplättchen eingelassen.

cap 21blue 02s

Da der Rohbau nun abgeschlossen war, ging es ans Finish. Nachdem insgesamt 4,5 qm Bespannpapier vertapeziert waren, erfolgte eine mir bis dahin neue Art der Grundierung. Nach Vorbehandlung mit Spannlack, Klebstoff und viel Verdünnung erfolgte der Pinselauftrag von zwei Schichten Acryllack. Um auf das vom Hersteller versprochene Gewicht zu kommen, bleibt nun nichts anderes übrig, als etliche Stunden mit Nassschleifen zuzubringen. Es bleibt eine hauchdünne Schicht übrig, durch die das rote Bespannpapier durchschimmert. Nach gründlicher Vorbehandlung werden nun noch die GfK-Flügelübergänge angeklebt. Die Imitation der Nieten erfolgt mit beiliegenden Nägeln. Nun wird mit DB-Classic Weiß gespritzt.

phillipe01s

Philippe Souperon`s CAP

Hat man die sehr saubere Rauchglas-Kabinenhaube angeschraubt, kommt man zum schönsten Teil. Das Aus-schmücken mit den hervorragenden Dekorbogen bereitet viel Spaß. Als einziges müssen die großen Keimbuchstaben extra beschafft werden. Das gesamte Finish brachte bei meiner CAP 580 g dazu. Daraus ergab sich bei mir ein Komplettgewicht von 7600 g gegenüber einer Herstellerangabe von 7400 g. Zu meiner Freude stimmte der Schwerpunkt ohne Gewichtszugabe.

cap 21blue 01s

 

Als Bauzeit sind an meinem Modell 3 Monate verstrichen.

Da ich im Anbringen von Macken beim Aus-dem-Keller-Tragen genügend Erfahrung gesammelt habe, noch ein Tipp: Verpackungshüllen von Surfbrettern eignen sich nach Behandlung mit einem Folienschweißgerät hervorragend als Flächentaschen.

Am Tage des Erstfluges schien zwar herrlich die Sonne, jedoch war es recht windig. Der eingebaute Quadra zeigte sich nach einer Tankfüllung von seiner besten Seite. Ohne Einstellungsänderung lief er sauber durch und konnte sehr niedrig gedrosselt werden.

phillipe04s

Philippe Souperon`s CAP

Zwei kurze Rollversuche zeigten eine starke Reaktion auf Seitenruderausschläge und die etwa zu erwartende Ausrollstrecke. Der Start erfolgte auf unserer Hartpiste. Bedingt durch den etwas frischen Wind, war die CAP bereits nach kurzer Rollstrecke in der Luft und mußte etwas gedrückt werden. Auffallend war das sofortige und exakte Reagieren des Modells auf jede Ruderbewegung, was mich nach einer Trimmrunde gleich ermunterte zu sehen, was denn nun dahintersteckt.

phillipe03s

Philippe Souperon`s CAP

Trotz riesig erscheinender Querruderausschläge lassen sich alle Rollfiguren wunderbar weich und exakt fliegen. Der Messerflug erfordert dank des großen Rumpfes wenig Seitenruderausschlag. Gerissene Rollen können so nebenbei geflogen werden. Die CAP eignet sich allerdings nicht für Speedflieger. Im Sturzflug ist kaum eine Geschwindigkeitszunahme festzustellen, ebenso verhält sich das Modell in gedrückten und gezogenen Figuren. Daraus ergibt sich ein ausgewogenes und ausgesprochen elegantes Flugbild.

cap 21white 06s

Ich muss sagen, dass ich mit keinem Modell in den ersten 10 Minuten so viele Figuren ausprobiert habe wie mit dieser CAP. Obligatorisch wurde nun in Sicherheitshöhe überzogen. Hierbei zeigt sich, dass die CAP nur über die Nase geht, solange man die Finger vom Seitenruder lässt. Nicht unerwähnt möchte ich die Turns lassen. Sie werden nicht gekippt oder herumgedrückt, sondern geflogen. Die Landung ist überhaupt kein Problem. Der flache Gleitwinkel lässt eine saubere Einteilung des Anfluges zu. Aufsetzen und zurückrollen zur Startbox bilden den Abschluss eines begeisternden Erstfluges.

CAP21 fuselage

Zusammenfassend lässt sich sagen, dass die Auslegung des Modells in baulicher sowie fliegerischer Hinsicht optimal sein dürfte. Es bleibt zu hoffen, dass noch mehr Kameraden den Aufwand nicht scheuen und sich das Großmodell für das RC 1X-Programm bauen.

Technische Daten:

Maßstab: 1:3,4
Spannweite: 2,38 Meter
Gesamtlänge: 1,900 Meter
Motoren: 50 – 62 cm3
Flügelfläche: 83 dm2
Fluggewicht:      7,5 – 8,5 kg
Flächenbelastung: 90-102 g/dm2

 

www.toni-clark.com

Autor: Jörg Tetzlaff 1987
Fotos weisse Cap: Jörg Tetzlaff
Fotos blaue Cap: Karl Paul
Fotos 2.weisse Cap: Philippe Souperon

tonyclark header

Kommentar schreiben

Seien Sie nett. Halten Sie es sauber. Bleiben Sie beim Thema. Kein Spam.

Tags:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>