Reviews

Find out more about the F3A World Championships. F3A is the name of a model airplane competition class. » read more

Clubs and Associations

All the news about associations, clubs and other interest groups that organize retro aerobatic meetings and competitions. » read more

Engine tests

Yes, today the vast majority of us fly the pattern planes powered electrically. This is not only practical, but many of the old structures unfold electrically modernized their real potential. » read more

Retro Classics

Infos about the famous airplanes of that time, which were built and flown a lot, or wich have been particularly successful. Reviews of earlier pictures and lots of information. » read more

Sky Aviations

Sky Aviations News / From the board. Its about new products and activities. » read more

Home » Reviews, Topnews

Webra – the story

Submitted by
webra300

Webra Header

 

WEBRA – an epoch in model engine construction!

Review of a historical development of WEBRA model engines in Germany and Austria. We thank Mr. Gerhard Kaineder for documenting the history of Webra. The retirement si him begrudged!

Where it all began

A number of well-known modeling companies were founded in Germany after the Second World War. Werner Martin Bragenitz, for example, founded a precision engineering company in Berlin in the post-war year (1946), where he was involved in the production of customized precision engineering components and gear manufacturing.

Gerh Kaineder

Gerhard Kaineder

 

Model engines from 0.5 to 10 cc were produced as an independent product.  With the development of a self-ignition engine, so-called “diesel” model engine*), Bragenitz tried to bring the Webra 2.46 to the market in 1948 and that with success. The trademark “WEBRA” (WErner BRAgenitz) was born.

Peter Billes

Peter Billes

It was at the beginning of the 50s where in Berlin-Schöneberg the company “Feintechnik Martin Eberth” planned to manufacture model engines. The owner, Martin Eberth, was previously engaged in the manufacture of precision mechanical parts, devices, gears, worms and so on.

Hirtenberg 1968 1.Auslieferung HP61 Silverline

Hirtenberg 1968 1.Delivery HP61 Silverline

In general, it can be said that the development of model engines was still in its infancy. It can therefore be considered a stroke of luck that Martin Eberth and Werner M. Bragenitz met in the course of 1950. Both saw a great opportunity in merging the two precision engineering companies into one.

Webra Enzesfeld Montage

Final assembly of the engines at the Enzesfeld plant

The post-war period was an economically turbulent time: distribution channels and new partners were sought. Bragenitz and Eberth merged their precision engineering companies. In the following years, after various restructurings, the company “Fein- und Modelltechnik” was founded in Berlin-Schöneberg.  Günther Bodemann was engaged as a designer and in 1956 the first glow ignition engine was presented.

Webra Enzesfeld Produktion 70iger Jahre

View of production in the 70s at the Enzesfeld plant

A series of competitive successes followed and as demand increased, capacity was reached. The seat of the company was moved to Berlin, Oranienstraße 6. More premises made it possible to increase capacity and meet demand. Bragenitz left the company. The product name “WEBRA” remains in the company. Martin Eberth is now the sole owner from 1962.

Kurbelwelle Drehen

A crankshaft is being ground

At the beginning of the 60s, the WEBRA glow ignition engines such as the 5 ccm “Big Ben”, the “Bully 2-Glo” or the 2.5 ccm “Winner 2” were presented at the Nuremberg Toy Fair. This was followed by the 3.5 cc “Glo Star” and the 1.7 cc “Sport-Glo” and consequently the “Blackhead” 6.5 and 10 cc series were introduced.

Webra Enzesfeld 1972

Company view in the seventies from the Enzesfeld plant

In the 1960s, the political situation in West Berlin became increasingly uncertain. Entrepreneurs were worried about the continued existence of their businesses. Eberth was no exception. He sought contact with one of his competitors, Hirtenberger Patronen- und Zündhütchen AG. in Hirtenberg/Austria (HP).

Bericht in d.IZ ca. 1978

Report in the newspaper 1978

In the Hirtenberg company, a production branch for model engines of the “diesel” generation (e.g. HP15) was established in the 1960s under the management of Paul Bugl. Since production was only running on a small scale, Johann Kaineder was hired in 1968 as a work technician and consequently as plant manager.

 

Drehzentrum

Rotation center in the eighties in Enzesfeld plant

Under Kaineder, the first larger series products were developed, such as the successful glow ignition engines of the HP40 and HP60 “Silverline” generation, which were more powerful with Schnürle scavenging and better suited for the emerging RC flight. Peter Billes was responsible for the design. Paul Bugel left the Hirtenberg company at this time.

Firmenansicht MK22

Company view in the seventies from the Enzesfeld plant

The first contacts of Martin Eberth with Johann Kaineder were established at the toy fair in Nuremberg in the early 70s.  It was agreed and already in 1972 the new WEBRA factory was founded in Enzesfeld (not far from Hirtenberg), about 35 km south of Vienna. Immediately after the foundation, the operation could be started.

belegschaft

Presentation of the 1st delivery of the Webra 30-2 Boxer engine

 

Johann Kaineder, himself the managing director, set up series production, with the Webra 3.5 cc Glowstar, which was fully adopted from Berlin without modification, first coming off the production line before the company switched to in-house designs without exception.

Enzesfeld became the place for technical developments in the WEBRA group. One of these innovations was the very successful series of 2-stroke glow ignition engines with the inovative Schnürle scavenging of the types

„Webra Speed“
1,8 up to 2,5 cc
3,5 up to 4,5 cc
6,5 up to 8 cc
10 up to 13 cc
15 up to 25 cc

„Webra Racing“
10 up to 26 cc

„Webra Bully“
35 cc

„Webra P5”
10 up to 16,2 cc

„Webra Boxer“
30 cc

and the  4-strokeSerial „Webra T4“
6.5 bis 15 cc

 

Here are some photos of the engine range of the 70 years of company history

hp15d bugl

webra1.5

WEBRA 1,5cc (Bragenitz)

winner2

Webra Winner 2 (Bodemann)

webra61f

Webra Speed 61F

webra61rc 06

Webra 61 RC

Motor Racing 80F

Webra Racing 80F

webra boxer 30cc

Webra Boxer 30-2 FT

space8 16

R/C transmitter Webra Space 8/16

 

In the meantime, the Berlin plant had been abandoned, and from 1975 the company in Weidenberg near Bayreuth in Germany continued with limited production of the previous older Berliner designs.

©bern75 53

Hanno Prettner mit Curare Bern 1975

Over the years, Enzesfeld became more and more the center of WEBRA engine production. There was no new design of a WEBRA engine anymore that did not come from Austria.

bern75 57

Wolfgang Matt, Bern 1975

Hirtenberger Patronen- und Zündhütchen AG. ceased its engine production in 1986. One year earlier there was a change in the management at WEBRA Enzesfeld, Johann Kaineder retired for reasons of age and his son Gerhard Kaineder took over his duties.

gorizia 02

Jim Withley with Daddy Rabbit

The social conditions in the WEBRA Group also changed and Horst Eberth (son of Martin Eberth) took over the management in Weidenberg where the company increasingly specialized as a contract manufacturer and supplier for the automotive industry.

wolfgangmatt81

Wolfgang Matt with Arrow 1979 in Southafrika

Enzesfeld was smart enough to immediately join the proliferating competition circuit after production of the Hirtenbergs ended and develop other engines needed by competition model pilots. The Austrian Hanno Prettner, seven-time world champion in motorized aerobatics en suite, and the Liechtensteiner Wolfgang Matt and others, of course, achieved their successes with engines of the Webra brand.

gorizia 09

Wolfgang Matt with Superstar 1973 Gorizia / Italien

Model helicopters also benefited from the development work of WEBRA technicians. They created engines that were especially adapted to the operation of rotorcraft. Among other things, with higher engine power, better efficiency, more effective cooling and, above all, reduced noise development. WEBRA was also allowed to describe design technology, general running behavior and stability as “above average”.

werion wc197910

Mark Radcliff mit seinem Flugzeug EU-1

This resulted in a close cooperation between helicopter manufacturers and proficient helicopter pilots. Webra-Enzesfeld has always taken its own steps towards developments and improvements. One never oriented oneself to the technology of the competitors, but without exception to the newest technical achievements and tried to improve these still single-handedly.

hoppe75

Günter Hoppe 1975 in Bern

Gerhard Kaineder with his designer Peter Billes were the driving force in the further development in the sector of engine technology. WEBRA Enzesfeld had in any case become an independent Austrian company.

stevens wc197930

Arrow 1979

Since 1972, development and production took place in Enzesfeld. The unshakeable mainstay was still refinement and production of combustion engines, even if WEBRA occasionally entered peripheral areas such as electric drives, servos, receivers and radio remote controls. WEBRA also took on the four-stroke engine, but had to recognize that there was still a lot of development potential in the two-stroke.

GuenterHoppeSultan6

Günter Hoppe`s Sultan 5 Acapulco 1981

To get the engine noise somewhat under control, the engine speeds were lowered (long-stroke engine) without sacrificing torque and the previously somewhat neglected sound damping was addressed. The result was surprising. WEBRA engines with matching mufflers were among the quietest units in model aviation. And with that, the two-stroke was back in a big way.

gorizia 12

Bruno Giezendanner`s Salamander 1973 in Gorizia

What has changed as a result is the interest in helicopters, which gave more and more competition to the fixed-wing models. WEBRA has also adapted to this. In Enzesfeld, the engine requirements of the latest helicopter models have been addressed and engine performance, engine cooling, materials, running behavior and design technology have been adapted to the special characteristics of this type of model aircraft.

stevens wc197931

Tony Frakowiak`s Tipoare 1983 Pensacola

Although WEBRA was still particularly fond of model flying, other areas also established themselves on an electronic basis. Especially in the sector of industrial electronics, the company developed into a much respected specialist. The experience gained in the field of radio remote control is naturally also reflected in the field of model flying. It is not surprising that, in addition to the mainstay of motor production, particularly powerful and safe transmitters and receivers in various radio frequencies rolled off the production line. In other words, the company did not buy knowledge from others, but developed it itself.

wc 85hoppeschweiker

Team Germany Günter Hoppe und Werner Schweiker 1981 in Acapulco

This new market segment has become another mainstay for WEBRA, which easily compensated for the sometimes fluctuating demand for leisure products (model flying). Incidentally, the fact that the entire production was 90 percent export-oriented and found buyers in Germany, the rest of Europe, the USA and Asia is reassuring. Even the Japanese market was not uninteresting. “Made in Austria” had long had a certain status there.

f3ax lemgo 1981045

Günter Hoppe`s Cap

In the 90s, more and more model building products from China came onto the world market. Originally of low quality at sublime prices.  At the high production costs prevailing in Europe against the production costs given in China, many European model manufacturers could no longer be competitive. One adjusted to market segments which demanded innovation, performance and above all quality. Here WEBRA could also further develop and market its products.

extra fink

Stefan Fink`s Extra 300

Due to the world financial crisis in 2008, the WEBRA Enzesfeld plant was also affected in 2010. The company had to file for insolvency, a continuation of the company was no longer considered by the shareholders, so the WEBRA model engine era of more than 70 years came to an end.

stefanfink1983

Stefan Fink`s Dalotel

The design principle of the “Diesel” model engine consisted of an aluminum injection-molded crankcase which accommodated the cylinder liner at the upper end of which sat a counter piston. In the mounted cooling head, a toggle was inserted via a thread which served to adjust the compression. The fuel used was a mixture of ether, kerosene and castor oil.

 

marabu article02

Bruno Giezendanner and Wolfgang Matt

 

josefbrennsteiner

And one must certainly not be missing: The former F3C helicopter world champion Sepp Brennsteiner

 

Thanks to Gerhard Kaineder

© Hornig Classicpattern.com

Images: Gerhard Kaineder, Classicpattern stock

Leave a comment

Be nice. Keep it clean. Stay on topic. No spam.

Tags:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Rückblick

Berichte und Bildmaterial von vergangenen R/C Kunstflug-Veranstaltungen. weiterlesen »

Clubs & Verbände

Infos über Verbände und Clubs, die Retro Kunstflugtreffen und Wettbewerbe organisieren. weiterlesen »

Motorentests

Unter dieser Rubrik finden Sie interssante und teils historische Artikel über Modellflugmotoren. weiterlesen »

Retro-Klassiker

Alles über die berühmten Flugmodelle von damals, Testberichte, Bildmaterial und viele Infos. weiterlesen »

Sky News

Hier wird über neue ARF- Projekte von Sky Aviations, Germany berichtet. weiterlesen »

Home » Topthema, Rückblick

Webra – Die Story

Eingereicht
webra300

Webra Header

 

WEBRA – eine Epoche im Modellmotorenbau!

Rückblick auf eine historische Entwicklung der WEBRA-Modellmotoren in Deutschland und Österreich. Wir danken Herrn Herrn Gerhard Kaineder für die Dokumentatin der Firmengeschichte von Webra. Der Ruhestand si Ihm gegönnt!

Wo alles begann

Eine Reihe von bekannten Modellbaufirmen entstand in Deutschland nach der Zeit des Zweiten Weltkrieges. So gründete auch Werner Martin Bragenitz in dem Nachkriegsjahr (1946) ein feinmechanisches Unternehmen mit Sitz in Berlin wo er sich mit der Produktion von kundenspezifischen feinmechanischen Bauteilen sowie Zahnradfertigung beschäftigte.

Gerh Kaineder

Gerhard Kaineder

 

Als eigenständiges Produkt wurden Modellmotoren von 0,5 bis 10 ccm hergestellt.  Mit der Entwicklung eines Selbstzünder-Motors, sogenannter „Diesel“-Modellmotor*), versuchte Bragenitz 1948 den Webra 2,46 auf den Markt zu bringen und dass mit Erfolg. Das Markenzeichen „WEBRA“ (WErner BRAgenitz) war geboren.

Peter Billes

Peter Billes

Es war Anfang der 50er Jahren wo in Berlin-Schöneberg die Firma „Feintechnik Martin Eberth“ plante Modellmotoren herzustellen. Der Inhaber, Martin Eberth, beschäftigte sich bisher mit der Herstellung von feinmechanischen Teilen, Geräte, Zahnräder, Schnecken usw.

Hirtenberg 1968 1.Auslieferung HP61 Silverline

Hirtenberg 1968 1.Auslieferung HP61 Silverline

Generell kann man sagen, dass die Entwicklung von Modellmotoren noch am Anfang stand. Man kann es daher durchaus als glückliche Fügung bezeichnen, dass sich Martin Eberth und Werner M. Bragenitz im Laufe des Jahres 1950 kennen lernen. Beide sahen eine große Chance darin, die beiden Feintechnikfirmen zu einer einzigen zusammen zu führen.

Webra Enzesfeld Montage

Endmontage der Motoren im Werk Enzesfeld

Die Nachkriegszeit war eine wirtschaftlich bewegte Zeit:  Vertriebswege und neue Partner wurden gesucht. Bragenitz und Eberth fusionierten ihre Feintechnikfirmen. In den Folgejahren, nach verschiedenen Umstrukturierungen, entstand die Firma „Fein- und Modelltechnik“ in Berlin-Schöneberg.  Als Konstrukteur war Günther Bodemann engagiert und 1956 wurde der erste Glühzündermotor**) vorgestellt.

 

Webra Enzesfeld Produktion 70iger Jahre

Blick in die Fertigung in den 70er Jahren im Werk Enzesfeld

Es folgten eine Reihe von Wettbewerbserfolgen und mit der steigenden Nachfrage gelang man an die Grenzen der Kapazität. Der Sitz der Firma wurde nach Berlin, Oranienstraße 6 verlagert. Mehr Räumlichkeiten ermöglichten die Kapazität zu erhöhen und der Nachfrage nachzukommen. Bragenitz scheidet aus dem Unternehmen aus. Der Produktname „WEBRA“ verbleibt in der Firma. Martin Eberth ist nun ab 1962 Alleininhaber.

Kurbelwelle Drehen

Es wird eine Kurbelwelle geschliffen

Anfang der 60iger Jahre wurden auf der Nürnberger Spielwarenmesse die WEBRA Glühzündermotoren wie der 5 ccm „Big Ben“, der „Bully 2-Glo“ oder der 2,5 ccm „Winner 2“ vorgestellt. Es folgte der 3,5 ccm „Glo Star“ und der 1,7 ccm „Sport-Glo“ und folglich die „Blackhead“-Serie 6,5 und 10 ccm vorgestellt.

Webra Enzesfeld 1972

Webra Enzesfeld 1972

In den 60er Jahren wurde die politische Situation in West-Berlin immer unsicherer. Unternehmer machten sich Sorgen um den Fortbestand ihres Betriebes. So auch Eberth. Er suchte Kontakte zu einen seiner Mitbewerber, der Hirtenberger Patronen- und Zündhütchen AG. in Hirtenberg/Österreich (HP).

Bericht in d.IZ ca. 1978

Bericht in der Zeitung 1978

In dem Hirtenberger Unternehmen entstand in den 60iger Jahren unter Leitung von Paul Bugl ein Produktionszweig für Modellmotoren der „Diesel“-Generation (z.B. HP15). Da die Produktion nur im kleinen Umfang lief wurde 1968 Johann Kaineder als Arbeitstechniker und folglich als Betriebsleiter angestellt.

 

Drehzentrum

Drehzentrum in den Achtzigern im Werk Enzesfeld

Unter Kaineder entstanden die ersten größeren Serienprodukte wie die erfolgreichen Glühzündermotoren der HP40er und HP60 „Silverline“-Generation die mit Schnürle Spülung leistungsfähiger und für den aufkommenden RC-Flug besser geeignet waren. Für die Konstruktion zuständig war Peter Billes. Paul Bugel schied zu diesem Zeitpunkt aus dem Hirtenberger Unternehmen aus.

Firmenansicht MK22

Firmenansicht in den Siebzigern vom Werk Enzesfeld

Die ersten Kontakte von Martin Eberth mit Johann Kaineder entstanden bei der Spielwarenmesse in Nürnberg Anfang der 70er Jahre.  Man einigte sich und bereits 1972 das neue WEBRA-Werk in Enzesfeld (unweit von Hirtenberg), ca. 35 km südlich von Wien, zu gründen. Unmittelbar nach Gründung konnte der Betrieb aufgenommen werden.

belegschaft

Präsentation der 1.Auslieferung des Webra 30-2 Boxer Motors

 

Johann Kaineder, selbst Geschäftsführer, baute eine Serienfertigung auf, wobei zunächst der Webra 3,5 ccm Glowstar, der ohne Änderungen voll von Berlin übernommen wur­de, vom Band lief, bevor man ausnahmslos zu Eigen­konstruktionen überging.

Enzesfeld wurde im WEBRA-Konzern der Ort für technische Entwicklungen. Eine dieser Innovationen waren die sehr erfolgreichen Serien der 2-Takt Glühzündermotoren mit der innovativen Schnürle-Spülung der Typen

„Webra Speed“
1,8 bis 2,5 ccm
3,5 bis 4,5 ccm
6,5 bis 8 ccm
10 bis 13 ccm
15 bis 25 ccm

„Webra Racing“
10 bis 26 ccm

„Webra Bully“
35 ccm

„Webra P5”
10 bis 16,2 ccm

„Webra Boxer“
30 ccm

und die 4-Takt Serien „Webra T4“
6.5 bis 15 ccm

 

Hier einige der Motorenpalette:der 70jährigen Firmengeschichte

hp15d bugl

webra1.5

WEBRA 1,5cc (Bragenitz)

winner2

Webra Winner 2 (Bodemann)

webra61f

Webra Speed 61F

webra61rc 06

Webra 61 RC

Motor Racing 80F

Webra Racing 80F

webra boxer 30cc

Webra Boxer 30-2 FT

space8 16

Funkfernsteuerung Webra Space 8/16

 

Inzwischen war das Werk Berlin aufgege­ben worden, ab 1975 ging es mit dem Unternehmen im deutschen Weidenberg bei Bayreuth mit einer eingeschränkten Herstellung der bisherigen älteren Berliner-Konstruktionen weiter.

©bern75 53

Hanno Prettner mit Curare Bern 1975

Enzesfeld wurde im Lauf der Jah­re immer mehr zum Zentrum der WEBRA-Motorenfertigung ausge­baut. Es gab keine Neukonstruktion eines WEBRA ­Motors mehr, die nicht aus Österreich kam.

bern75 57

Wolfgang Matt, Bern 1975

Die Hirtenberger Patronen- und Zündhütchen AG. stellte 1986 ihre Motorenher­stellung ein. Ein Jahr zuvor gab es bei WEBRA Enzesfeld eine Änderung in der Geschäftsführung, Johann Kaineder ging aus Altersgründen in den Ruhestand und sein Sohn Gerhard Kaineder übernahm seine Aufgaben.

gorizia 02

Jim Withley with Daddy Rabbit

Auch die gesellschaftlichen Verhältnisse im WEBRA Konzern änderten sich und Horst Eberth (Sohn von Martin Eberth) übernahm die Geschäftsführung in Weidenberg wo man sich zunehmen spezialisierte als Lohnfertiger und Zulieferer für die Autoindustrie.

wolfgangmatt81

Wolfgang Matt mit Arrow 1979 n Südafrika

Enzesfeld war klug genug, sich nach Produktionsende der Hirtenberger sich sofort in den um sich greifenden Wettbewerbszirkus einzuspulen und weitere Motoren zu ent­wickeln, die von Wettbewerbs­modellfliegern benötigt wurden. Der Österreicher Hanno Prettner, siebenfacher Weltmeister im Motorkunstflug en suite und der Liechtensteiner Wolfgang Matt und andere natürlich, erzielten ihre Erfolge mit Triebwerken der Marke Webra.

gorizia 09

Wolfgang Matt mit Superstar 1973 Gorizia / Italien

Auch die Modellhubschrauber profitierten von den Entwicklungs­arbeiten der WEBRA-Techniker. Sie schufen Motoren, die besonders auf den Betrieb der Drehflügler abgestimmt waren. Unter anderem mit höheren Motorleistungen, besserem Wirkungsgrad, wirksamerer Kühlung und vor allem reduzierter Lärmentwicklung. Auch konstruktive Technik, allgemeines Laufverhalten und Standfestigkeit durfte WEBRA als „über dem Durchschnitt“ liegend bezeichnen.

werion wc197910

Mark Radcliff mit seinem Flugzeug EU-1

 

Daraus entspann sich eine enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen Helikopter-Herstellern und profunden Hubschrauber Piloten. Webra-Enzesfeld hat immer in Richtung Entwick­lungen und Verbesserungen eige­ne Schritte unternommen. Man orientierte sich nie an der Tech­nik der Konkurrenten, sondern ausnahmslos an den neuesten technischen Errungenschaften und versuchte diese im Alleingang noch zu verbessern.

hoppe75

Günter Hoppe 1975 in Bern

Gerhard Kaineder mit seinem Konstrukteur Peter Billes waren dabei die treibende Kraft in der Weiterentwicklung auf dem Sektor Motorentechnik. WEBRA Enzesfeld war jedenfalls ein eigenständiges österreichisches Unternehmen geworden.

stevens wc197930

Arrow 1979

Seit 1972 wurde in Enzesfeld entwickelt und produziert. Das unverrückbare Standbein waren nach wie vor Verfeinerung und Herstellung von Verbrennungsmotoren, auch wenn WEBRA zeitweise in Randgebiete wie Elektroantriebe, Servos, Empfänger und Funkfernsteuerungen einstieg. WEBRA nahm sich auch des Viertaktmotors an, musste aber erkennen, dass im Zweitakter noch eine Menge Entwicklungspotential steckt.

GuenterHoppeSultan6

Günter Hoppe`s Sultan 5 Acapulco 1981

Um den Motorenlärm etwas in den Griff zu bekommen, senkte man die Drehzahlen (Langhuber), ohne dabei Drehmoment zu opfern und stürzte sich auf die bislang etwas ver­nachlässigte Schalldämpfung. Das Ergebnis war überra­schend. WEBRA-Mo­toren mit dazu passenden Schalldämpfern zählten zu den leise­sten Aggregaten der Modellfliegerei. Und damit war der Zweitakter wieder groß im Kommen.

gorizia 12

Bruno Giezendanner`s Salamander 1973 in Gorizia

Was sich in Folge geändert hat, ist das Interesse an Hubschraubern, der den Flächen­modellen immer mehr Konkurrenz machte. Auch darauf hat sich WEBRA eingestellt. In Enzesfeld ist man an die motorischen An­forderungen neue­ster Helikoptermodelle herangegangen und hat Motorleistungen, Motorkühlung, Materialien, Laufverhalten und kon­struktive Technik den besonderen Eigenschaften dieser Gattung Flugmodelle angepasst.

stevens wc197931

Tony Frakowiak`s Tipoare 1983 Pensacola

Obwohl WEBRA nach wie vor ganz besonders mit dem Modellflug verwachsen war, haben sich auch andere Gebiete auf elektronischer Basis etabliert. Insbesondere auf dem Sektor industrielle Elektronik entwickelte sich das Unternehmen zu einem vielbeachteten Spezialisten. Die daraus gewonnenen Erfahrungen der Funkfernsteuerungen schlagen sich natürlich auch auf das Fach Modellflug nieder. Es wundert nicht, wenn neben der tragenden Säule Motorfertigung auch beson­ders leistungsfähige und sichere Sender und Empfänger in unterschiedlichen Funkfrequenzen vom Band liefen. Hier wurde also nicht fremdes Wissen angekauft, sondern selbst entwick­elt.

wc 85hoppeschweiker

Team Germany Günter Hoppe und Werner Schweiker 1981 in Acapulco

Dieses neue Marktsegment ist für WEBRA zu einem weiteren Standbein geworden, der die manchmal schwankende Nachfrage nach Freizeitprodukten (Modellflug) leicht ausgleichte. Im Übrigen beruhigt die Tatsache, dass die gesamte Produktion zu 90 Prozent exportorientiert war und Abnehmer in Deutschland, übriges Europa, den USA und Asien findet. Selbst der japanische Markt war nicht uninteressant. „Made in Austria“ hatte dort seit langem einen gewissen Stellenwert.

f3ax lemgo 1981045

Günter Hoppe`s Cap

In den 90iger Jahren kamen vermehrt Modellbauprodukte aus China auf dem Weltmarkt. Ursprünglich von niederer Qualität zu unterschwelligen Preisen.  Zu den in Europa herrschenden hohen Produktionskosten gegen über den in China gegeben Produktionskosten konnte viele europäischen Modellbauproduzenten nicht mehr konkurrenzfähig sein. Man stellte sich auf Marktsegmente ein die Innovation, Leistung und vor allem Qualität verlangte. Hier konnte auch WEBRA seine Produkte weiter entwickeln und vermarkten.

extra fink

Stefan Fink`s Extra 300

Bedingt durch die Weltfinanzkrise 2008 wurde auch das Werk WEBRA Enzesfeld im Jahre 2010 in Mitleidenschaft gebracht. Das Unternehmen musste die Insolvenz beantragen, an ein Weiterführen des Unternehmens war von der Gesellschafter Seite nicht mehr angedacht, damit ging die WEBRA Modellmotoren-Ära von mehr als 70 Jahren zu Ende.

stefanfink1983

Stefan Fink`s Dalotel

Das Konstruktionsprinzip des „Diesel“ Modellmotors bestand aus einem Alu-Spritzguss Kurbelgehäuse welches die Zylinderlaufbuchse aufnahm an deren oberen Ende ein Gegenkolben saß. In dem montierten Kühlkopf wurde über ein Gewinde ein Knebel eingebracht der zur Einstellung der Kompression diente. Als Treibstoff wird ein Gemisch von Äther, Petroleum und Rizinusöl verwendet.

 

marabu article02

Bruno Giezendanner und Wolfgang Matt

 

josefbrennsteiner

Und einer darf ganz gewiss nicht fehlen: Der ehemalige F3C Helikopterweltmeister Sepp Brennsteiner

Danke an Gerhard Kaineder

© Hornig Classicpattern.com

Fotos: Gerhard Kaineder, Classicpattern Bestand

Kommentar schreiben

Seien Sie nett. Halten Sie es sauber. Bleiben Sie beim Thema. Kein Spam.

Tags:

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>